Skip to main content


More FUSD Students Earn National Merit Scholarships
Posted 5/27/20

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced 15 FUSD high school students are among this year’s National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners. These Merit Scholar designees were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 outstanding Finalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program and join the eight FUSD students previously announced as Scholarship winners in the NMSC’s initial release on April 21st. Scholarship recipients from FUSD are:


American High School

            Anya Desai

            Emily Lin

            Rohit Ravi


Irvington High School

            Einar Balan

            Irene Geng

            Anita Nguyen

            Alicia Yang


Mission San Jose High School

            Era Dewan

            Karen Li

            Patrick Liu

            Derek Luan

            Steven Xie

            Christina Yu


Washington High School

            Pranit Panda

            Sahir Qureshi


National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners are the Finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The number of winners named in each state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the nation’s graduating high school seniors. These Scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by both the Finalists and their high schools: the academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®); contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the Finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official.


Additional college-sponsored awards will be announced June 3rd and July 13th.